Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2012-11-08 - 1:14 p.m.

Yes Michigan! The feeling's forever!

and one month ago we took our forever words back to the mitten, where I was born and raised and where he will grow from our baby to our genius boy. already we are learning this thing that city people learn when they return to the suburbs: cars rule our system of transportation and people tend to never walk, or look around them. i want him to be a walker, one who always looks around him and not only at the double-yellow lines on the tar.

as I look down at him, I know what it is to be truly content, unconcerned with money, status, race, class, gender or religion. he knows not of war and corruption, he isn't yet aware of all of the issues he will inherit in this world. oh the bliss of infancy, and it taking satisfaction of stomach, skin and heart to erupt in contagious smiles.

if home is where the heart is, it has always been here, exit 172 off of 94, here, exit 149th st off of 87, here, uhuru highway from the airport into Nairobi, here in Dakar, where his other family grows. we are blessed to be nomads with many lights on many porches welcoming our humble caravan.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!